Who is the second female president of the Philippines?

Two women have held the office: Corazon Aquino (1986–92), who ascended to the presidency upon the successful People Power Revolution of 1986, and Gloria Macapagal Arroyo (2001–10), who, as vice president, ascended to the presidency upon Estrada’s resignation and was elected to a full six-year term in 2004.

Who is the 2nd president of the Philippines?

Elpidio Quirino, (born Nov. 16, 1890, Vigan, Phil. —died Feb. 28, 1956, Novaliches), political leader and second president of the independent Republic of the Philippines.

Who is the first female president of the Philippines?

Prior to her election as president, Aquino had not held any elected office. She was the first female president of the Philippines.

Corazon Aquino.

Her Excellency Corazon Aquino CCLH
Prime Minister Salvador Laurel (25 February 1986 – 25 March 1986)
Vice President Salvador Laurel
Preceded by Ferdinand Marcos
Succeeded by Fidel V. Ramos

Who is the only ex lady president of the Philippines?

Gloria Macapagal Arroyo

IT IS SURPRISING:  Is 100 dollars a lot in Cambodia?
Her Excellency Gloria Macapagal Arroyo
Preceded by Joseph Ejercito Estrada
Succeeded by Benigno S. Aquino III
10th Vice President of the Philippines
In office June 30, 1998 – January 20, 2001

Who are the presidents of the Philippines in order?


  • Emilio Aguinaldo. ( 1899–1901)
  • Manuel L. Quezon (1935–1944)
  • José P. Laurel (1943–1945)
  • Sergio Osmeña (1944–1946)
  • Manuel Roxas (1946–1948)
  • Elpidio Quirino (1948–1953)
  • Ramon Magsaysay (1953–1957)
  • Carlos P. Garcia (1957–1961)

Who is the real 1st President of the Philippines?

Emilio Aguinaldo is officially recognized as the first president of the Philippines, but this is based on his term of office during the Malolos Republic, later known as the First Philippine Republic.

Who is the president after Marcos?

List of presidents of the Philippines by previous executive experience

Order President
10 Ferdinand Marcos
11 Corazon Aquino
12 Fidel V. Ramos
13 Joseph Estrada

Who is the 6th president of the Philippines?

Elpidio Rivera Quirino (November 16, 1890 – February 29, 1956) was a Filipino lawyer and politician who served as the sixth president of the Philippines from 1948 to 1953.

Elpidio Quirino.

His Excellency Elpidio Quirino
Secretary of Foreign Affairs
In office September 16, 1946 – January 6, 1950
President Manuel Roxas Himself

Who is the 10th president of the Philippines?

Ferdinand Marcos

His Excellency Ferdinand Marcos CCLH, KGCR
Marcos in 1982 during a ceremony
10th President of the Philippines
In office December 30, 1965 – February 25, 1986
Prime Minister Himself (1978–1981) Cesar Virata (1981–1986)

Who owned the Philippines in 1900?

The Philippines was ruled under the Mexico-based Viceroyalty of New Spain. After this, the colony was directly governed by Spain. Spanish rule ended in 1898 with Spain’s defeat in the Spanish–American War. The Philippines then became a territory of the United States.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Which Australian city is closest to Indonesia?

Is Cory Aquino still alive?

On January 23, 1899, two months before turning 30, Aguinaldo was proclaimed the first president of the Republic of the Philippines, and he convened the Philippine Congress which ratified the country’s Constitution.

What is the best president?

Abraham Lincoln, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and George Washington are most often listed as the three highest-rated presidents among historians.

Who is the next president after Emilio Aguinaldo?

List of Presidents

No. Name Left office
13 Joseph Estrada January 20, 2001
14 Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo June 30, 2010
15 Benigno Aquino III June 30, 2016
16 Rodrigo Duterte Incumbent

Who named the Philippines?

The Philippines are named after King Philip II (1527-1598) of Spain. The country was discovered by the Portuguese navigator Ferdinand Magellan in 1521 (while in Spanish service). Later tension arose between Portugal and Spain and in 1542 Spain re-claimed the islands for themselves, naming them after its then king.