How many Division are there in Myanmar?

States and divisions of Myanmar – Burma. Myanmar (Burma) consists of 14 provinces; or 7 states representing the areas of 7 main ethnic races and 7 divisions.

What are the seven divisions in Myanmar?

Myanmar is divided administratively into seven states largely on the basis of ethnicity—Chin, Kachin, Kayin (Karen), Kayah, Mon, Rakhine (Arakan), and Shan—and seven more truly administrative divisions of Myanmar proper—Ayeyarwady (Irrawaddy), Magway (Magwe), Mandalay, Bago (Pegu), Sagaing, Taninthary (Tenasserim), and …

How many states and division is in Myanmar?

The country is divided into seven states, seven regions (divisions), and one Union Territory.

What is the largest division in Myanmar?

Change history:

Division Population Area-km
Karenni 58,761 11,704
Magwe 1,722,044 71,725
Mandalay 1,696,332 32,385
Northern Shan States 636,107 55,426

How many divisions are there in Yangon?

Administrative divisions

Yangon Region consists of 4 districts and 45 townships.

What is the capital of Myanmar?

Nay Pyi Taw, (Burmese: “Abode of Kings”) also spelled Nay Pyi Daw or Naypyidaw, city, capital of Myanmar (Burma). Nay Pyi Taw was built in the central basin of Myanmar in the early 21st century to serve as the country’s new administrative centre.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Frequent question: What are the three stages of Philippine literature?

Which province is Yangon in?

A large part of the province is occupied by the capital city of the country, the city of Yangon, which can be found in the central part of the province and is one of the largest municipal areas of the whole region.

Yangon Province, Burma Lat Long Coordinates Info.

Country Myanmar (Burma)
Country Code MM
Zoom Level 8

How many city are there in Myanmar?

Myanmar has 2 cities with more than a million people, 20 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 44 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people. The largest city in Myanmar is Yangon, with a population of people.

What is the biggest state in Myanmar?

The largest of the 14 administrative divisions by land area, Shan State covers 155,800 km2, almost a quarter of the total area of Burma. The state gets its name from Burmese name for the Tai peoples: “Shan people”.

How many languages are there in Myanmar?

Around 100 languages and dialects are spoken in Myanmar representing four major language families (Sino-Tibetan, Austro-Asiatic, Tai–Kadai, and Indo-European). Burmese, the official language of Myanmar (Burma), spoken by about 65% of the population is also the language of instruction.

How many state are there in Myanmar?

The Republic of the Union of Myanmar comprises seven states and seven regions named in the 2008 Constitution, six self-administered zones and divisions, and one Union territory containing the capital Nay Pyi Taw and surrounding townships.

How many districts are in Mon State?

There are dispersed army infantry battalions at many towns in Mon state, and Thaton has a Light Infantry Division (44th). Major districts are divided for example, Mawlamyine, Thaton, and Ye districts.

Cities and towns and villages.

IT IS SURPRISING:  Question: What is the correct spelling of Philippines?
Cities with large district Towns Villages
Chaungzon Kamarwatt Ywar Lut

Is Myanmar divided into states?

Myanmar is divided into seven states (pyine) and seven divisions (yin). The States are (state capital in brackets): Chin State (Hakha) | Kachin State (Myitkyina) | Kayin also Karen State (Hpa-an) | Kayah, also Karenni State (Loikaw) | Mon State (Mawlamyine) | Rakhine State (Sittwe) | Shan State (Taunggyi).

Which township is the best in Yangon?

The Bahan Township is the best area in Yangon to stay in if you want a bit of peace and quiet. This genteel neighborhood is slightly to the north of the Downton are and is on the banks of the Kandawgyi Lake.

Why is Yangon famous?

Yangon is the former capital city of Myanmar and this is also the largest city in the country. The city is famous for having a mix of gorgeous colonial architecture which is located alongside traditional pagodas covered in gold leaf and studded with jewels.