Question: What are the Filipino virtues?

What are the moral virtues of Filipino?

These serve as pillars for a special collection of virtues (kagandahang-loób, utang-na-loób, pakikiramdam, hiya, lakas-ng-loób/bahala na) which are not individualistic virtues in the same way as most of the cardinal virtues of the Western tradition (i.e. prudence, justice, temperance and fortitude) but are all directed …

What are the 10 Filipino values?

The ten most depicted traits were the following: pakikisama, hiya, utang na loob, close family ties, bahala na, amor propio, bayanihan, hospitality, ningas cogon, and respect for elders. These traits are analyzed from a social psychological viewpoint.

What is the first virtue that a good Filipino must have?

It is most similar to an aspect of “love” in Aquinas called “benevolence.” Kagandahang-loób is very important because it is the “first step” in Filipino virtue ethics. It is what paves the way for the other Filipino virtues by first addressing the other person as kapwa.

What are virtues examples?

“Virtues” are attitudes, dispositions, or character traits that enable us to be and to act in ways that develop this potential. They enable us to pursue the ideals we have adopted. Honesty, courage, compassion, generosity, fidelity, integrity, fairness, self-control, and prudence are all examples of virtues.

IT IS SURPRISING:  What Filipino values do you hold?

What are the core values of the Filipino?

Core Concepts

  • Hospitality.
  • Hiya.
  • Modesty.
  • Courtesy.
  • Warmth.
  • Respect.
  • Kapwa.
  • Fatalism.

Why are Filipino values important?

Filipinos reiterate the importance of values related to society such as good governance, love for country, honesty and integrity. As for personal values, value of the self, life and purpose, resilience, and happiness are important.

What are the 6 Filipino values?

Enumeration of Filipino values

  • Family orientation.
  • Humour and Positivity.
  • Flexibility, adaptability, and creativity.
  • Religious adherence.
  • Ability to survive.
  • Hard work and industriousness.
  • Hospitality.

What are Filipino traits?

Popular Characteristics Of Filipino People

  • Filipinos Love To Prepare Great Tasting Food. …
  • Most Filipinos Have Strong Family Ties. …
  • The Filipino People Are Respectful. …
  • Many Filipinos Are Hardworking And Resourceful. …
  • The Filipino People Are Passionate.

What are the 10 Filipino values that should be discarded?

Therefore, for the good of ourselves and our country, it is imperative that we should discard the following Pinoy bad habits and attitudes:

  • Crab Mentality. …
  • Ningas-Kugon. …
  • Mañana Habit. …
  • Filipino Time. …
  • Being Onion-Skinned (Balat Sibuyas). …
  • General Disregard For Rules. …
  • Colonial Mentality. …
  • Balikbayan Box Mentality.

What Filipino traits are affected by virtue ethics?

These are prudence in the reason, and temperance and fortitude in the sensitive appetites. Now when it comes to the Filipino virtues, they are all in the will, in the loób, because that is the only part of the soul that Filipino virtue ethics is concerned with.

Is Hiya a virtue or a vice?

In this article I make an important distinction between two kinds of hiya: (1) the hiya that is suffered as shame or embarrassment (a passion) and (2) the hiya that is an active and sacrificial self-control of one’s individual wants for the sake of other people (a virtue).

IT IS SURPRISING:  Quick Answer: Is the Vietnamese dong going to revalue?

What do you mean by virtues?

Definition of virtue

1a : conformity to a standard of right : morality. b : a particular moral excellence. 2 : a beneficial quality or power of a thing. 3 : manly strength or courage : valor. 4 : a commendable quality or trait : merit.

What are the 52 virtues?

The 52 Virtues

  • assertiveness. caring. cleanliness. commitment. compassion. confidence. consideration. …
  • diligence. enthusiasm. excellence. flexibility. forgiveness. friendliness. generosity. …
  • integrity. joyfulness. justice. kindness. love. loyalty. moderation. …
  • reliability. respect. responsibility. self-discipline. service. tact. thankfulness.

What are the 7 Holy virtues?

The seven heavenly virtues are faith, hope, charity, fortitude, justice, temperance and prudence. Here they are applied to social media in an abbreviated form, and they can be found in their entirety in my book Tweet others as you would wish to be tweeted: a scripture-based guide to social media for the Church.

What is the best virtues in life?

A whole cluster of important human virtues—empathy, compassion, kindness, generosity, service, loyalty, patriotism (love of what is noble in one’s country), and forgiveness—make up the virtue of love.