XU wins Visayas Mindanao Debate Championship

Xavier University is the champion of the 2013 Visayas Mindanao Debate Championship held at the 3rd floor of the Library of University of the Philippines Visayas, Tacloban City last July 14, 2013.

Giano Libot and Albert Daba of Xavier University Team B emerged victorious against the other three grand finalists. They went against Xavier University Team A Rene Gandeza and Arvin Gogo, Ateneo de Davao University A Daniel Jalotjot and Alyana Gutierrez, and University of San Carlos A Ralph Gonzales and Justin Gular.

University of San Carlos Team A was the opening government while Ateneo de Davao was the opening opposition. XU Team B and XU Team A were the closing government and opposition respectively. They debated on the motion “This house believes the state has no right to socially re-engineer society to its liking.”

Gian and Albert’s team (XU Team B) convinced the judge with their point that individual identity is important, that a state without diverse individuals would never be able to confront its own biases.

Gian Libot was declared the finals best speaker. Xavier University debaters also harvested all the awards for the tournaments best speakers namely: first – Rene Gandeza of XU Team A, second – Arvin Gogo of XU Team A, and the third went to Gian Libot of XU Team B.

XU was also last year’s champion of the said debate tournament held in Cebu City.

This year’s host is UP Visayas, Tacloban City. The entire tournament took place from July 11-14.

Congratulations Xavier University Parliamentary Debate Circle for another exemplary performance. Thank you for bringing pride and honor to Cagayan de Oro. Tsada Gyud!

Photos from Gian Libot’s Facebook Page