Team XU advances to national debate tilt

Three teams of Xavier University Debate Circle (XU Team A, B, and C) will advance to the break seed rounds, the road to the final series of The Secretary’s Cup. This national debate championship is sponsored and designed by the Department of Health and the Universal Healthcare Study Group of the University of the Philippines along with their partners, to tackle issues concerning the health care system. This is in line with the Aquino Administration’s desire to institutionalize its agenda on health care reform programs to improve the country’s health system. They will use the modified Asian parliamentary debate format.

The break seed rounds and the championship match will be held in Manila on March 15-16, 2013. It will be a knockout system until two teams are left in the finals. Xavier University Team A will go against University of the Philippines Visayas Team A while Xavier University B will compete with Xavier University C.

Prior to the break rounds, Regional Qualifiers happened nationwide. Xavier University hosted the Northern Mindanao match. XU Team A and B were declared winners and automatically advanced to the break rounds. XU C was one of the wild card teams and  according to the mechanics, they need to have  likes at the Secretary Cup’s Facebook Page. The more likes a team has, the more chance that they would advance to the break seed rounds. Fortunately, due to the overwhelming support of Kagayanons, the XU C got 3,000 plus likes that gave them the ticket to the top 16 break seed teams.

Go Xavier! Make Cagayan de Oro proud!



Photos by The Secretary’s Cup Facebook Page